Shri Bandaru Dattatraya

    Governor of Haryana 2021
    • Address: Haryana Raj Bhavan, Sector 6, Chandigarh – 160019
    • Email: governor[at]hry[dot]nic[dot]in
    • Designation: Hon'ble Governor Haryana

    Date of Birth: 12 June, 1947

    Place of Birth: Hyderabad (Telangana)

    Marital Status: Married

    Date of Marriage: 17 May 1989

    Spouse’s Name: Smt. Vasantha

    Daughter: Smt B.Vijaya Lakshmi

    Son: Late Bandaru Vaishnav

    Educational Qualifications : B.Sc. Educated at Osmania University, Hyderabad (Telangana)

    Profession: Social Worker

    Permanent Address: B-34, F4, Ram Nagar, Hyderabad, Telangana

    Position Held:

    • 1968:Started as RSS Pracharak
    • 1974:RSS Vibhag Pracharak
    • 1975:Joint Convenor – Loka Sangharsh Samithi (during Emergency Period)
    • 1976–77:Arrested under MISA during Emergency
    • 1978:Joint Secretary for Cyclone Relief Committee – AP (RSS), Taken up Rehabilitation and Housing for Cyclone Victims in Diwiseema AP
    • 1979:Pramukh–Seva Bharathi AP
    • 1980:Joined BJP and posted as Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party (B.J.P.), Andhra Pradesh
    • 1981-89:General-Secretary, B.J.P., Andhra Pradesh
    • 1991:Elected to 10th Lok Sabha,Member, Public Accounts Committee Member, Committee on Welfare of SCs, STs and Minorities
    • 1996-98:President, B.J.P., Andhra Pradesh
    • 1998:Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
    • 1998-99:Union Minister of State, Urban Development
    • 1999:Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
    • 13 Oct. 1999- 13 June 2000: Union Minister of State, Urban Development
    • 14 June 2000- 30 June 2002: Union Minister of State, Urban Development and Poverty Alleviation
    • 1 July 2002-7 Sept 2003:Union Minister of State, Ministry of Railways
    • 8 Sept. 2003-May 2004: Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Minister of Urban Development and Poverty Alleviation
    • 2004-2006:National Secretary, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
    • 2006–2009:President, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Andhra Pradesh
    • 2009–2013:National Executive Member, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
    • 2013-2014:National Vice-President, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Member, National Manifesto Committee, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
    • May,2014:Re-elected to 16th Lok Sabha (4th term) Member, Standing Committee on Railways
    • 1 Sep 2014-9 Nov 2014: Member, Standing Committee on Railways
    • 12 Sep. 2014-9 Nov 2014: Chairperson,Parliamentary Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBC)
    • 15 Sep. 2014-9 Nov 2014: Member, Committee on Violation of Protocol Norms and Contemptuous Behavior of Government Officers with Members of Lok Sabha
    • 9 Nov 2014-1 Sept. 2017: Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Labour and Employment
    • 1 Sept 2017: Member, Standing Committee on Finance
    • 19 December 2018: Chairperson, Joint Committee on Salaries and Allowances of Members of Parliament
    • 11th September,2019 – 14th July 2021: Governor of Himachal Pradesh
    • 15th July,2021: Assumed the office of the Governor of Haryana

    Social and Cultural Activities: Slum development, especially through house building and supply of potable water; President, Samsakara Bharathi Cultural Organisation, Andhra Pradesh; Founder, Siva Bharathi Slum Development Organisation, 1979; served the victims of cyclones and natural calamities; organized social and cultural activities through voluntary organizations; interested in mythological songs

    Special Interests: Social work

    Favorite Pass time and Recreation: Reading Books and listening to music

    Sports and Clubs: Carom, Table Tennis and Cricket

    Other Information: General Secretary, Voluntary Organisations, India; Joint Secretary, A.P. Cyclone Committee(RSS); Member, (i) Tobacco Board, 1991-96; (ii) Coconut Board, 1991-96; (iii) Railway Advisory Committee, 1991-96; and (iv) Telephone Advisory Committee, 1991-96